注意:Google Maps Platform 游戏服务自 2021 年 10 月 18 日起已弃用。现有用户在 2022 年 12 月 31 日之前仍可继续使用。在此期间,我们会继续针对重大错误和服务中断提供支持和修复方案。请参阅游戏服务转换指南,获取相关资源,以帮助您规划项目的后续步骤。

Maps SDK for Unity 主要概念

使用集合让一切井井有条 根据您的偏好保存内容并对其进行分类。

以下部分介绍了对理解和使用 Maps SDK for Unity 至关重要的概念。

MapsService 类和组件

MapsService 类充当与 Maps SDK for Unity 进行交互的入口点。它封装了 ApiKey,并公开了 GameObjectManagerLoadMap 函数,以及来自 GameObject Creation 流水线的事件

如需在 Unity 项目中使用 Maps SDK for Unity,请将地图服务脚本组件添加到场景中的空 GameObject。地图服务会自动将生成的地图 GameObjects 添加为该锚点 GameObject 的子项。将 Maps Service(脚本)附加到基本 GameObject 后,您可以在 Unity Inspector 中访问其公共属性,如下所示。

地图服务(脚本)

地理位置功能作为 Unity GameObject

Maps SDK for Unity 会将 Google 地图数据库中的地理地图项(例如建筑物、道路和水)渲染为游戏中的 Unity GameObject。在运行时,这些对象会作为 MapsService 组件附加的 GameObject 的子对象创建,其名称采用 {MapFeatureType}({PlaceID}) 的形式。

SDK 游戏对象

创建 GameObject

在游戏过程中,SDK 从语义地图图块(通过 Semantic Tile API 中)提取 Google 地图数据库中的地理数据。它会即时解码这些数据,并将其转换为 Unity GameObject。此方法可让您尽早访问地图特征数据(元数据和几何图形数据),因此您可以在 GameObjects 到达流水线终点之前对其进行自定义。

Maps SDK for Unity 在接收矢量数据时首先要做的就是根据该对象构建一个 MapFeature 对象。

在流水线的中间阶段,MapFeature 对象具有特殊性。也就是说,它们变为特定类型(例如 Google.Maps.Feature.ModeledStructure)。这些专门的 MapFeature 对象包含 MapFeatureShape 几何图形详细信息(在 ModeledStructure 中为 ModeledVolume)。这些详细信息包括特定于 MapFeature 的数据(如顶点和三角形)以及用于访问通用字段(如边界框)的共享接口。

几何图形数据会转换为 Unity 网格,并通过 MeshFilter 添加到生成的 GameObject,然后使用 MeshRenderer 显示。

访问流水线

MapFeature 通过在流水线的各个阶段触发的事件提供给您。其中包括 WillCreate 事件(在创建 GameObject 之前立即触发,让您能够指定样式选项,甚至取消创建);以及 DidCreate 事件(在 GameObject 创建后立即触发,以便您对已完成的网格进行添加或更改)。

例如,您可以在 WillCreateExtrudedStructureEvent 触发后检查 ExtrudedStructures,并隐藏所有小于 20 米的建筑物(也可以完全跳过创建这些建筑物)。

事件类型

Google.Maps.Event 命名空间包含每种地理位置地图项的事件类。

每种事件类型都有一个 WillCreate 和一个 DidCreate 公共成员事件对象,您可以订阅这些对象,如以下代码示例所示。

dynamicMapsService.MapsService.Events.ExtrudedStructureEvents.DidCreate.AddListener(args => {

    // Apply nine-sliced walls and roof materials to this building.
    buildingTexturer.AssignNineSlicedMaterials(args.GameObject);

    // Add a border around the building base using the Building Border Builder class,
    // coloring it using the given border Material.
    Extruder.AddBuildingBorder(args.GameObject, args.MapFeature.Shape, BuildingAndRoadBorder);
});

WillCreate 个事件

WillCreate 事件会在创建 MapFeature 后立即触发,但会在通过它生成最终 GameObject 之前触发。WillCreate 事件可让您抑制或自定义通过 MapFeature 创建的 GameObject。WillCreate 事件参数采用以下格式:

using System.ComponentModel;
using Google.Maps.Decoded;
using UnityEngine;

namespace Google.Maps {
  public class WillCreateGameObjectEventArgs<T, U>
      : CancelEventArgs where T : IMapObject, U : IGameObjectStyle {

    public readonly T MapObject;
    public U Style;
    public GameObject Prefab;

    Public WillCreateGameObjectEventArgs(T mapObject, U defaultStyle, GameObject prefab) {
      MapObject = mapObject;
      Style = defaultStyle;
      Prefab = prefab;
    }
  }
}
  • Cancel(继承自 CancelEventArgs)设置为 true 会禁止创建 GameObject。
  • MapObject 是只读的。
  • 通过设置 Style,您可以自定义已创建的 GameObject 的外观。
  • 设置 Prefab 会将原本应生成的 GameObject 替换为预设件。

DidCreate 个事件

在生成 GameObject 之后(即向场景添加事件后)触发 DidCreate 事件。他们会在 GameObject 创建成功时通知您,让您可以执行进一步处理。DidCreate 事件参数的格式如下:

using System.ComponentModel;
using Google.Maps.Decoded;
using UnityEngine;

namespace Google.Maps {
  public class DidCreateGameObjectEventArgs<T, U>
      : EventArgs where T : IMapObject, U : IGameObjectStyle {

    public readonly T MapObject;
    public GameObject CreatedObject;

    Public DidCreateGameObjectEventArgs(T mapObject, GameObject createdObject) {
      MapObject = mapObject;
      CreatedObject = createdObject;
    }
  }
}
  • MapObject 是只读的,因此更改它不会导致对场景进行任何更改。
  • 更改 CreatedObject 改变添加到场景中的 GameObject。

建筑物

建筑物分为两种:凸出的建筑物和建模建筑。

挤压式建筑

凸出的建筑物由轮廓(即 2D 空间)和高度生成。SDK 以这种方式表示大多数建筑物,并通过以下三种方式生成这些建筑物:

  • 使用真实身高数据(如果有此信息)。这是默认行为。

  • 为所有建筑物提供固定高度,而不考虑其实际高度。

  • 为所有没有实际高度的建筑物提供备份高度(默认情况下,此值设置为 10 米)。

通过结合使用这三种方法,Maps SDK for Unity 可以创建反映现实世界的真实差异、/恒定高度或两者结合的城市景观。

根据模型估算的结构

建模结构是使用曲面细分三角形的标准 3D 建模方法生成的。这种方法通常用于地标建筑,如自由女神像。

模特自由女神像

正在应用材料

在 Unity 中,渲染进程使用着色器材质纹理为 GameObjects 添加真实感。着色器定义了纹理、颜色和亮度如何应用于显示的几何图形,并将特定纹理、颜色和其他设置用作材料进行存储。您可以使用材质来指定通过何种方式呈现 Surface,即引用它使用的纹理、平铺信息和颜色。

着色器是一种小型脚本,其中包含根据照明输入和 Material 配置计算每个像素颜色的逻辑。Maps SDK for Unity 随附用于建模结构的标准着色器,以及另一个用于基本地图功能的着色器,但它也支持高级 Material 应用。针对地图地图项 GameObjects 计算UV 映射的坐标时,可采用任何基本材料应用,且无需修改即可看起来合理。

为了获得更高级的材质效果,Maps SDK for Unity 通过额外的 UV 通道为每个顶点提供了额外的数据,并通过 GoogleMapsShaderLib 库为 cg 着色器提供了许多便捷函数。这样可以实现九宫格构建纹理之类的操作,即将纹理切分成建筑物的屋顶、地面、墙角和瓷砖墙。

如需了解详情,请参阅《Unity 用户手册》中的创建和使用材料

紫外线通道

每种 MapFeature 类型的 UV 通道都包含以下形式的数据:

ExtrudedStructure

Walls

ExtrudedStructure 中的每面墙都是构建为以下形式的四边形:

Walls

墙壁的 UV 坐标按每个四分位计算。顶点不会在四边形之间共享,这样可允许墙壁之间使用硬线法线(也就是说,墙角的角显示为硬角度,而不是软圆角边缘)。

频道 0:(x, y, width, height)
x 和 y 是墙的这个四边形(方形部分)左下角的坐标,而宽度和高度是墙的四边形的宽度和高度。这适用于组成墙的每一个四边形。
屋顶

屋顶纹理可以选择与轴对齐或与 ExtrudedStructure 的方向对齐。您可以通过 ExtrudedStructureStyle 对象设置此值。

频道 0:(x, y, width, height)
xy 是每个顶点(相对于屋顶的左下角,具体来说是指屋顶最下轴对齐的边界框的下角)的坐标。widthheight 用于定义屋顶边界框的大小。

Region

频道 0:(x, y, width, height)
xy 是各顶点相对于区域轴对齐边界框的左下角坐标。widthheight 用于定义边界框的大小。

Segment

频道 0:(x、y、宽度、长度)
xy 是每个顶点的坐标,计算方式与线段完全直立一样,以便纹理可以绕角弯折。widthlength 可定义线段的尺寸。

ModeledStructure

频道 0:
每个坐标都设置为 (0, 0, 0, 0),因为目前没有实现纹理坐标。

Google 地图 ShaderLib

Maps SDK for Unity 包含一个名为 GoogleMapsShaderLib 的着色器库,可帮助您构建与 MapFeature GameObject 配合使用的着色器。该库在 GoogleMapsShaderLib.cginc 文件中实现。通过在着色器脚本的 CGPROGRAM 标志部分中添加以下 #include 指令,您可以使用该库。

CGPROGRAM
// ...
#include "/Assets/GoogleMaps/Materials/GoogleMapsShaderLib.cginc"
// ...
ENDCG

着色器库捆绑在 GoogleMaps.unitypackage 中。导入该软件包后,您可以在项目文件夹 /Assets/GoogleMaps/Materials/ 中找到 GoogleMapsShaderLib.cginc

九片

GoogleMapsShaderLib 提供了一个便捷函数,您可以在片段着色器中使用该函数提供九个切片的纹理。九宫格是一种使用纹理覆盖表面的技术,其中纹理通过一系列边界划分为九个部分。边界之间的区域是平铺的,边界之外的区域保持不变,如下所示:

九片

例如,在将 9 个切片的纹理应用于建筑物的墙时,纹理的顶部将应用于墙的顶部(在屋顶正下方),纹理的底部应用到墙底部(连接到地面),纹理的边应用到墙的边缘,并且纹理的中间区域均匀地位于墙的中间。

在道路上(再举一个例子),九分路让您能够使用固定宽度的人行道,但车道数可变,具体取决于道路的宽度。

您可以通过在着色器中包含 GoogleMapsShaderLib.cginc,然后调用 nineSlice 函数来使用九切片。GoogleMaps.unitypackage 中提供了一些示例着色器和材质,以说明如何使用 nineSlice 函数打造大小可变的真实摩天大楼,而无需拉伸或撕裂。

Material 位置示例
/Assets/GoogleMaps/Examples/04_Advanced/MoreStyling/Materials/NineSlicing
着色器位置示例
/Assets/GoogleMaps/Examples/04_Advanced/MoreStyling/Materials/NineSlicing/BuildingWall.shader

您可以在任何 MapFeatureModeledStructures 除外,后者当前没有任何纹理坐标)上使用九分割。

坐标系

Maps SDK for Unity 坐标系使用网络墨卡托投影法在球面 WGS 84 纬度和经度 Unity 空间空间 (Vector3) 之间进行转换。

Vector3 值是相对于浮动出发地的,后者通常设为用户的出发位置。因此,您不应将 Vector3 值保存在会话之外(即,在服务器上或用户的设备上)。我们建议您使用纬度/经度对来指定物理位置。

浮点来源用于避免浮点稳定性问题。Unity 的 Vector3 类使用单精度浮点数,并且可表示的浮点数的密度随着其数量的增加而降低(意味着较大的浮点数变得不太准确)。只要用户离开远离出现问题的位置,就可以更新浮动来源。您可以将其设置为相对较小的值(例如 100 米或 200 米)或更大的值(大于 1 公里),具体取决于您更新内容的频率。

Unity Worldspace 会根据初始来源的纬度调整为 1:1(米)。在墨卡托投影法中,由于纬度不同,缩放比例会略有差异,因此,随着用户向北和向南移动,Unity Wordspace 的比例与 1:1 略有不同;但是,用户预计移动速度不够快(或者足够快),因此不会受到明显影响。

Maps SDK for Unity 包含用于在 Google.Maps.LatLng 和 Unity Worldspace (Vector3) 之间进行转换的转换函数,转换时考虑浮动来源和缩放比例。

加载错误

从网络加载地图数据时发生的错误可以通过 MapLoadErrorEvent 事件进行处理。如果您不添加事件处理脚本,Maps SDK for Unity 会自行处理大多数类型的错误。不过,由于存在错误,应用必须执行某项操作。这由 MapLoadErrorArgs.DetailedErrorCode 指定,如下所述。

UnsupportedClientVersion

此版本的 Maps SDK for Unity 已不再受支持,并且可能会与当前的 API 密钥结合使用。通常,您的应用应提示用户更新到较新版本。

此错误通常表示 Maps SDK for Unity 版本过旧。在极少数情况下,如果我们发现某个版本的 Maps SDK for Unity 或 API 密钥存在严重问题,我们可能会使用这种方法。我们将尽一切努力传达这一点,并确保当您的应用有可用的更新版本时,上述变更不会发生。

最佳做法是,在发生此错误时确保您的应用具有适当的升级路径,从而允许用户迁移到具有受支持 SDK 版本的较新版本应用。如需了解详情,请参阅客户端终止开关文档。

已知问题

基本地图项由后到后渲染,而不进行 Z 测试,因为此类型的所有地图项都在同一平面中渲染。您必须在应用于基本地图功能的任何替换材料上将 Z-testing 设置为 ZTest Always,以确保正确渲染这些功能。

Google 在 GoogleMaps.unitypackage 中提供了示例着色器来解决这些问题。此文件称为 "BaseMapTextured.shader,位于 /Assets/GoogleMaps/Materials/ 文件夹中。若要在材质上使用该材质,请从材质检查器的着色器下拉列表中选择 Google > 地图 > 着色器 > BaseMap Textured

设置 Feature.RegionFeature.AreaWater 对象的样式时,您可以使用 Material、自定义颜色或通过在样式对象内的 FillModeType 枚举中选择的自动生成的颜色来应用填充。Auto 颜色是根据 Region 的使用类型的值生成的。

It's the 15th anniversary of Google Maps Platform - Check out the latest news and announcements

Maps SDK for Unity Key Concepts

The following sections contain descriptions of the concepts that are key to understanding and using the Maps SDK for Unity.

The MapsService class and component

The MapsService class serves as the entry point for interacting with the Maps SDK for Unity. It encapsulates the ApiKey, and it exposes the GameObjectManager, and the LoadMap function, as well as Events from the GameObject Creation pipeline.

To use the Maps SDK for Unity in your Unity project, you add the Map Service script component to an empty GameObject in your scene. The Map Service automatically adds generated map feature GameObjects as children of this anchor GameObject. With the Maps Service (Script) attached to your base GameObject, you can access its public attributes in the Unity Inspector—as shown here.

Maps Service (Script)

Geographic features as Unity GameObjects

The Maps SDK for Unity renders geographic features (such as building, roads, and water) from the Google Maps database, as Unity GameObjects in games. At runtime, they're created as children of the GameObject that the MapsService component is attached to, and they have names of the form {MapFeatureType} ({PlaceID}).

SDK Game Objects

GameObject creation

During gameplay, the SDK pulls-down geo data from the Google Maps database—as semantic vector tiles (via the Semantic Tile API). It decodes this data on-the-fly, transforming it into Unity GameObjects. This approach allows you to access map feature data (both the metadata, and the geometry data) at the earliest opportunity, so you can customize the GameObjects before they reach the end of the pipeline.

The first thing that the Maps SDK for Unity does when it receives vector data, is construct a MapFeature object out of it.

At an intermediate stage in the pipeline, MapFeature objects are specialized. That is, they become specific types (for example, a Google.Maps.Feature.ModeledStructure). These specialized MapFeature objects contain the Shape geometry details ( ModeledVolume in the case of a ModeledStructure). These details include both MapFeature-specific data (such as vertices and triangles), and shared interfaces for accessing common fields (such as bounding boxes).

Geometry data is converted into a Unity Mesh, and is added to the spawned GameObject via MeshFilter, and then is displayed with a MeshRenderer.

Accessing the pipeline

MapFeatures are exposed to you through events that are triggered during various stages of the pipeline. These include WillCreate events—which are fired just before the GameObject is created, allowing you to specify the styling options, or even cancel creation; and DidCreate events—fired just after the GameObject is created, allowing you to make additions or changes to the finished mesh.

As an example, you could examine ExtrudedStructures after their WillCreateExtrudedStructureEvent fires, and hide all buildings shorter than 20 meters (or you could simply skip creating them altogether).

Types of events

The Google.Maps.Event namespace contains an event class for each type of geographic features.

Each of these event types has a WillCreate and a DidCreate public member event object that you can subscribe to, as demonstrated in the following code example.

dynamicMapsService.MapsService.Events.ExtrudedStructureEvents.DidCreate.AddListener(args => {

    // Apply nine-sliced walls and roof materials to this building.
    buildingTexturer.AssignNineSlicedMaterials(args.GameObject);

    // Add a border around the building base using the Building Border Builder class,
    // coloring it using the given border Material.
    Extruder.AddBuildingBorder(args.GameObject, args.MapFeature.Shape, BuildingAndRoadBorder);
});

WillCreate events

WillCreate events are fired immediately after a MapFeature is created, but before the final GameObject is generated from it. WillCreate events allow you to suppress or customize the GameObjects created from a MapFeature. WillCreate event arguments have the following form:

using System.ComponentModel;
using Google.Maps.Decoded;
using UnityEngine;

namespace Google.Maps {
  public class WillCreateGameObjectEventArgs<T, U>
      : CancelEventArgs where T : IMapObject, U : IGameObjectStyle {

    public readonly T MapObject;
    public U Style;
    public GameObject Prefab;

    Public WillCreateGameObjectEventArgs(T mapObject, U defaultStyle, GameObject prefab) {
      MapObject = mapObject;
      Style = defaultStyle;
      Prefab = prefab;
    }
  }
}
  • Setting Cancel (inherited from CancelEventArgs) to true suppresses the creation of the GameObject.
  • MapObject is readonly.
  • Setting Style allows you to customize the appearance of the created GameObject.
  • Setting Prefab replaces the GameObject that would have been generated, with the prefab.

DidCreate events

DidCreate events are fired after a GameObject is generated, after it has been added to the scene. They notify you when the creation of the GameObject was successful, allowing you to perform further processing. DidCreate event arguments have the following form:

using System.ComponentModel;
using Google.Maps.Decoded;
using UnityEngine;

namespace Google.Maps {
  public class DidCreateGameObjectEventArgs<T, U>
      : EventArgs where T : IMapObject, U : IGameObjectStyle {

    public readonly T MapObject;
    public GameObject CreatedObject;

    Public DidCreateGameObjectEventArgs(T mapObject, GameObject createdObject) {
      MapObject = mapObject;
      CreatedObject = createdObject;
    }
  }
}
  • MapObject is readonly - so mutating it will not cause any change to the scene.
  • Altering CreatedObject will alter the GameObject added to the scene.

Buildings

There are two types of buildings: extruded buildings, and modeled structures.

Extruded buildings

Extruded buildings are generated from an outline (that is, a 2D footprint) and a height. The SDK represents most buildings in this manner, and it generates them in the following three ways:

  • Using real-world height data (where this information is available). This is the default behavior.

  • By providing a fixed height for all building, disregarding their real-world height.

  • By providing a backup height for all buildings that don't have a real-world height (by default, this value is set to 10 meters).

Combining these three methods allows the Maps SDK for Unity to create cityscapes with realistic variance reflecting the real world, or with a constant building height, or a mixture of the two.

Modeled structures

Modeled structures are generated using the standard 3D modeling approach of tessellated triangles. This approach is typically used for landmark buildings, such as the Statue of Liberty.

The Modeled Statue of Liberty

Applying materials

In Unity, the rendering process uses shaders, materials, and textures, to add realism to GameObjects. Shaders define how textures, colors, and lighting, are applied to displayed geometry, with the specific textures, colors and other settings used stored as a material. You use materials to define how a surface is rendered—by including references to the textures it uses, to tiling information, and to color.

Shaders are small scripts that contain the logic for calculating the color of each pixel—based on the lighting input, and on the material configuration. The Maps SDK for Unity comes with a standard shader for modeled structures, and another for basemap features, but it also supports advanced material application. Coordinates for UV mapping are calculated for map feature GameObjects in such a way that any basic material can be applied, and it will look reasonable without modification.

For more advanced material effects, the Maps SDK for Unity provides additional data per-vertex via extra UV channels, as well as a number of convenience functions for cg shaders via the GoogleMapsShaderLib library. This allows things like Nine-Sliced building textures—cutting-up a texture into the roof, ground, wall-corners, and tiled walls, for a building.

For more information, see Creating and Using Materials in the Unity User Manual.

UV channels

The UV channels for each MapFeature type contain data of the following form:

ExtrudedStructure

Walls

Each wall on an ExtrudedStructure is constructed as a quad of the following form:

Walls

UV coordinates for walls are calculated per quad. Vertices are not shared between quads—to allow for hard normals between walls (that is, letting the corners of walls appear as hard angles, rather than soft rounded edges).

Channel 0: (x, y, width, height)
x and y are the coordinates relative to the bottom left corner of this quad (square section) of the wall, whereas width and height are the width and height of this quad of the wall. This applies to every quad making up the wall.
Roof

Roof textures have the option of being either axis-aligned, or aligned to the direction of the ExtrudedStructure. You set this via the ExtrudedStructureStyle object.

Channel 0: (x, y, width, height)
x and y are the coordinates of each vertex, relative to the bottom-left corner of the roof (specifically, the corner of the minimum-cover axis-aligned bounding box for the roof). width and height define the size of the roof's bounding box.

Region

Channel 0: (x, y, width, height)
x and y are the coordinates of each vertex relative to the bottom-left corner of the axis-aligned bounding box for the region. width and height define the size of the bounding box.

Segment

Channel 0: (x, y, width, length)
x and y are the coordinates of each vertex, calculated as if the segment were completely straight—to allow texturing to bend around corners. width and length define the dimensions of the segment.

ModeledStructure

Channel 0:
Each coordinate is set to (0, 0, 0, 0) because there is currently no texture-coordinate implementation.

GoogleMapsShaderLib

The Maps SDK for Unity includes a shader library called GoogleMapsShaderLib, to help you build shaders that work well with MapFeature GameObjects. The library is implemented in the file GoogleMapsShaderLib.cginc. You can use the library by including the following #include directive within the CGPROGRAM flags section in your shader script.

CGPROGRAM
// ...
#include "/Assets/GoogleMaps/Materials/GoogleMapsShaderLib.cginc"
// ...
ENDCG

The shader library is bundled inside the GoogleMaps.unitypackage. After you import the package, you can find GoogleMapsShaderLib.cginc inside the project folder /Assets/GoogleMaps/Materials/.

Nine-slicing

GoogleMapsShaderLib includes a convenience function that you can use in fragment shaders to provide nine-slicing of textures. Nine-slicing is a technique for covering surfaces with a texture, where the texture is divided into nine portions using a series of bounds. Areas between the bounds are tiled, and areas outside the bounds remain fixed—as illustrated here:

Nine-slicing

For example, when applying a nine-sliced texture to a building's wall, the top of the texture is applied to the top of the wall (just under the roof), the bottom of the texture is applied to the bottom of the wall (connected to the ground), the sides of the texture are applied to the edges of the wall, and the area in the middle of the texture is tiled evenly across the wall.

On roads (for another example), nine-slicing allows you to have a sidewalk of fixed width, but with a variable number of lanes, depending on the width of the road.

You can use nine-slicing by including GoogleMapsShaderLib.cginc in your shader, and then calling the nineSlice function. Sample shaders and materials are included in the GoogleMaps.unitypackage to demonstrate how you can use the nineSlice function to create a realistic skyscraper of variable size—without stretching or tearing.

Example Materials location
/Assets/GoogleMaps/Examples/04_Advanced/MoreStyling/Materials/NineSlicing
Example Shader location
/Assets/GoogleMaps/Examples/04_Advanced/MoreStyling/Materials/NineSlicing/BuildingWall.shader

You can use nine-slicing on any MapFeature, except for ModeledStructures, which don't currently have any texturing coordinates.

The coordinate system

The Maps SDK for Unity coordinate system uses the Web Mercator Projection to convert between spherical WGS 84 latitude-longitude and cartesian Unity Worldspace (Vector3).

Vector3 values are relative to a floating origin, which is typically set to the user's starting location. As a result, you should not persist Vector3 values outside of a session (that is, on your server, or on the user's device). We recommend that you specify physical world locations using latitude-longitude pairs.

A floating origin is used to avoid floating-point stability issues. Unity's Vector3 class uses single-precision floating-point numbers, and the density of representable floating-point numbers decreases as their magnitude increases (meaning larger floating-point numbers become less accurate). You can update the floating origin whenever users move far enough away from the origin that this becomes an issue. You can set this to a relatively small value (for example, 100 or 200 meters), or larger (greater than 1 km) depending on how often you want to update things.

Unity Worldspace is scaled to 1:1 (meters), based on the initial origin's latitude. In the Mercator Projection, scale varies slightly by latitude, so the Unity Wordspace scale diverges marginally from 1:1 as users move North and South; however, users are not expected to move far (or fast) enough for this to be noticeable.

The Maps SDK for Unity contains conversion functions for converting between LatLng and Unity Worldspace (Vector3)—that take into account floating origin and scale.

Load errors

Errors that occur while loading map data from the network can be handled with the MapLoadErrorEvent event. The Maps SDK for Unity handles most types of errors itself if you don't add an event handler. However, there is an error that requires that your app take some action. This is specified by MapLoadErrorArgs.DetailedErrorCode and is described below.

UnsupportedClientVersion

This version of the Maps SDK for Unity is no longer supported, possibly in combination with the current API Key. Typically your app should prompt the user to update to a newer version of your app.

This error usually means that the Maps SDK for Unity version is too old. In rare cases, we might use this if we discover a critical problem with a version of the Maps SDK for Unity or with an API Key. We will make every effort to communicate this and ensure that this doesn't happen until there is a working version of the app available to update to.

It's best practice to ensure your app has suitable upgrade path in the event this error occurs, allowing your users to migrate to a newer version of your app with a supported SDK version. For more information, see the Client Kill Switch documentation.

Known issues

Base map features are rendered back-to-front without z-testing because all features of this type are rendered in the same plane. You must set z-testing to ZTest Always on any replacement materials that you apply to base map features to ensure that they are rendered correctly.

Google has included a sample shader that addresses these issues—in the GoogleMaps.unitypackage. It's called "BaseMapTextured.shader, and it's located in the /Assets/GoogleMaps/Materials/ folder. To use it on a material, select Google > Maps > Shaders > BaseMap Textured from the shader drop-down in the material inspector.

When styling a Feature.Region or a Feature.AreaWater object, you can apply a fill using either a material, a custom color, or an automatically generated color chosen via the FillModeType enum within the styling object. Auto colors are generated based on the value of the Region's usage type.